NBF calls for Bed Industry Awards entries

The Bed Industry Awards – honouring the brightest and best enterprises in the bed market – are back for 2022, with the National Bed Federation (NBF) seeking entries for 11 categories – seven of them new.

The awards showcase the very best in inspiration, design and innovation from bed manufacturers, suppliers and retailers. The awards are free to enter, and all entries are submitted online.

This year’s awards categories almost doubles 2021’s line up, with five awards for NBF member manufacturers and component suppliers and six awards for businesses that predominantly stock NBF member brands.

“We know how valued the NBF’s Bed Industry Awards are,” says NBF Executive Director Jessica Alexander “Every year we are awed by the quality and variety of submissions – so it is with great excitement and anticipation that we announce some new and some returning categories this year. We can’t wait to see all the entries!”

Manufacturer Awards

After a four-year hiatus, the company awards are making a comeback for 2022, with Bed Manufacturer of the Year and Component Supplier of the Year up for grabs by NBF members.

For the first time the NBF is introducing a new award for the Sales Agent/Rep of the Year, recognising an individual’s achievements within their business. This award is open to sales agents and reps of NBF manufacturer companies and NBF component supplier companies. Nominations can come from a bed retailer, a bed manufacturer or the sales agent/rep’s own company.

Returning this year for NBF manufacturers and suppliers exhibiting at the show are Bed Product of the Year, including mattresses, headboards, frames and sofa beds; and Component Product of the Year, awarded to the most innovative component product or machine used in manufacturing a finished product.

Retailer Awards

The retailer awards have seen a significant shake-up too. Brand new for 2022 is the award for the Outstanding Bed Store/Bed Department of the Year, which has gone the extra mile for its business to make an impact inside and out. Entries can come from single-store or multi-store businesses which are NBF Retail Champions or national retailers whose product offer is at least 50% NBF approved brands, and each retailer may only nominate one store. Judged by the NBF marketing committee, a shortlist will be produced for a mystery shopping organisation to visit and report back on.

Also new for 2022 is the Best Retail Marketing Campaign, open again to NBF Retail Champions and national bed retailers stocking predominantly NBF brands.

Last year’s NBF Retail Champion of the Year Award has now split into the NBF Small Retail Champion of the Year Award for retailers with four stores or fewer and the NBF Large Retail Champion of the Year Award for retailers with five to 20 stores. These awards are open to all retailers signed up to the NBF’s Retail Champions Scheme, which supports businesses whose product offer is at least 50% NBF approved brands (Retail Champions) and 100% NBF approved brands (Premier Retail Champions).

Returning for 2022 is the National Bed Retailer of the Year Award for businesses with more than 20 stores and the Online Bed Retailer of the Year Award, where at least 80% of the sales are via the internet.

A shortlist of all the retailer awards will be published before the NBF Bed Show at Telford International Centre. The winners will be announced at the gala dinner and awards ceremony on Tuesday 20th September.

More information on all the 2022 awards, including how to enter and detailed criteria for each category, are available now on the Bed Show website: www.bedshow.co.uk/awards  . Deadlines vary depending on the award, starting with Friday 22nd July.

Save this article for later

You can revisit this article if you save it as favourite news!

Leave a Comment


Keiran Hewkin, founder and CEO of sofa-in-a-box brand Swyft, talks about their recent ownership transition and what it means for the business moving forward....